Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Donors to the College of Chemistry and the University have generously established endowed chairs and professorships held by our faculty, including:

Name of ChairEstablishedCurrent Chairholder
The Joel Hildebrand Distinguished Professorship
(to be occupied by the Chair of the Department of Chemistry)
1981 Dean Toste
The Class of 1942 Chair* 1988 Christopher Chang
The Glenn T. Seaborg Chair in Physical Chemistry 1998 Eran Rabani
The Kenneth S. Pitzer Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry 1998 Martin P. Head-Gordon
The Gilbert Newton Lewis Endowed Chair
(to be occupied by the Dean of the College of Chemistry)
2001 Douglas S. Clark
The Henry Rapoport Chair in Organic Chemistry 2001 John F. Hartwig
The Warren and Katharine Schlinger Distinguished Professorship in Chemical Engineering
(to be occupied by the Chair of the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
2002 Bryan D. McCloskey
The Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Biochemical Engineering 2002 David V. Schaffer
The Professor Gerald K. Branch Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry 2002 Dean Toste
The Aldo De Benedictis Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry 2002 Matthew B. Francis
The Melvin Calvin Distinguished Professorship in Chemical Biodynamics 2003 Daniel Neumark
The Chevron Chair in Chemistry 2004 Jennifer Bergner
The John R. Thomas Endowed Chair in Physical Chemistry 2004 Stephen R. Leone
The T. Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry 2004 Alanna Schepartz
The Charles Wilke Endowed Chair in Chemical Engineering 2004 Wenjun Zhang
The CH and Annie Li Chair in the Molecular Biology of Diseases* 2005 Michael Marletta
The Charles W. Tobias Chair in Electrochemistry 2006 Nitash Balsara
The Theodore Vermeulen Chair in Chemical Engineering 2006 Shannon Boettcher
The Cupola Era Endowed Chair in the College of Chemistry 2008 Kwabena Bediako
The James and Neeltje Tretter Endowed Chair in Chemistry 2008 Omar Yaghi
The Dow Chair in Sustainable Chemistry 2008 Alexis T. Bell
The Lieselotte and David Templeton Endowed Chair in Chemistry 2010 Joelle Frechette
The S. K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair in Energy*
(Multidisciplinary DIstinguished Chair)
2010 Peidong Yang
The C. Judson King Endowed Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 2011 Bryan D. McCloskey
Raymond and Beverly Sackler Chair in Biophysics* 2012 Carlos Bustamante
Li Ka Shing Chancellor’s Chair in Biomedical and Health Sciences* 2014 Jennifer A. Doudna
The Free Radicals Era Endowed Professorship 2017 Kranthi Mandadapu
Philomathia Chair in Alternative Energy  2018 Jay Keasling
The PMP Tech Chancellor's Chair in Chemistry 2020 T. Don Tilley
Bruce and Susan Stangeland Professor 2022 Aditi Krishnapriyan
The John F. Heil, Jr. Chancellor's Chair in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 2023 Roya Maboudian
The John F. Heil, Jr. Professorship in Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 2023 Karthik Shekhar
*Administered by other Berkeley campus units