Bryan D. McCloskey

Bryan D. McCloskey

Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
The Warren and Katharine Schlinger Distinguished Professor in Chemical Engineering

office: 201-D Gilman Hall
office phone: (510) 642-2295
lab: 209 Hildebrand
lab phone: (510) 664-7295 & (510) 664-7219

Research Group
Recent Publications

Research Interests

Electrochemical energy storage, electrocatalysis, molecular and ionic transport through polymers.

Our laboratory is interested in fundamental processes occurring in electrochemical systems, with a particular emphasis on batteries and electrocatalysis. Many potential battery chemistries possess high theoretical specific energies (e.g., lithium/oxygen and lithium/sulfur), and, as a result, are being explored in hope that their development may lead to an increase in practical battery energy density compared to currently available batteries. However, for these batteries to become a commercial reality, material challenges that cause rechargeability and rate capability limitations need to be addressed. Our research efforts are motivated by the opportunity these material challenges, as well as related materials challenges for oxygen and carbon dioxide reduction electrocatalysis, present. Accordingly, our laboratory’s objective is to characterize fundamental electrochemistry occurring at multi-phase interfaces to provide design insight for energy storage, electrocatalysis, and corrosion-resistant materials. By employing various state-of-the-art techniques, we use insights gained from fundamental chemical and electrochemical characterization to direct materials development that will lead to improvements in electrochemical systems operation.


  • B.S. Colorado School of Mines (2003)
  • Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin (2009)
  • Postdoctorate (2009-2011) and Research Staff Member (2012-2013), IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Mellichamp Distinguished Lectureship, Georgia Tech (2017)
  • Advanced Energy Storage Scialog Fellow (2017)
  • NSF CAREER Award (2017-2022)
  • VW/BASF Science Award Electrochemistry (2015)
  • Early Career Analytical Electrochemistry Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry (2015)
  • National Academy of Engineering US Frontiers of Engineering Symposium Participant (2015)
  • IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (2013)
  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship (2005-2008)
  • Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award, The Electrochemical Society (2020)
  • Tajima Prize, International Society of Electrochemistry (2021)
  • Clarivate Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher (2020, 2021)