Awards and Honors

College of Chemistry awards and honors featured in the news.

Grad student Lomont wins Future Leaders Award

January 25, 2013
Justin LomontJustin Lomont, a graduate student in the research group of Charles Harris, has been awarded a K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award from the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

David Schaffer appointed Hubbard Howe Jr Distinguished Chair in Biochemical Engineering

December 26, 2018

David SchafferThe department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE) has announced the appointment of David Schaffer as the Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Chair in Biochemical Engineering. Schaffer is a professor of Chemical and Biolmolecular Engineering, Bioengineering, Molecular & Cell Biology, and the Director of the Berkeley Stem Cell Center.

Professor Alexis T. Bell is the recipient of the 2018 NACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis

December 7, 2018

Alexis T. Bell

Professor Alexis T. Bell is the recipient of the 2018 NACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis sponsored and administered by The North American Catalysis Society. It is awarded biennially in even-numbered years. Bell will be honored at the closing banquet ceremonies at the 2019 North American Meeting of the Catalysis Society.

Nobel Prize award ceremony to be streamed live December 10

December 3, 2018

Nobel Laureate ceremony December 10th

This year's Nobel Laureates in science and medicine will take center stage in Stockholm on December 10th, when they receive the Nobel medal and diploma from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. This year's awardees include UC Berkeley Alumna Professor Frances Arnold of Caltech.

Sung-Hou Kim named AAAS Fellow

November 27, 2018

Sung-Hou KimAAAS awarded 416 of its members the distinction of Fellow this year for “their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Among the new Fellows from Berkeley are Allen Goldstein (Energy Technologies Area), Sung-Hou Kim (Biosciences), Susannah Tringe (Biosciences) and Katherine Yelick (Computing Sciences.)

Chemistry Nobel goes to UC Berkeley Ph.D. Frances Arnold

October 3, 2018

Frances Arnold wins Nobel PrizeFrances H. Arnold, the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry at Caltech, is one of three winners of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Richard Saykally to present BESE Distinguished Lecture at KAUST

November 16, 2018

Richard SaykallyRichard Saykally, Class of 1932 Endowed Professor of Chemistry at UC Berkeley, will present the BESE Distinguished Lecture on Probing Complex Interfaces at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology on November 19th.


Paul Alivisatos awarded the Wilhelm Exner medal

November 2, 2018

Paul Alivisatos

Paul Alivisatos, UC Berkeley's Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, has been awarded the 2018 Wilhelm Exner Medal for his pioneering research in nanoscience.

Richmond Sarpong receives the SSOCJ Mukaiyama award

November 1, 2018

Richmond Sarpong

Richmond Sarpong, Professor of Chemistry and Executive Associate Dean, has been recognized with the 2019 Mukaiyama award from the Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) along with Professor Shunsuke of Chiba Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. The award is intended to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry. Professor Sarpong will deliver an award lecture at the SSOCJ headquarters in Tokyo next year.

Alumna Frances Arnold is only the third Millennium Tech Prize winner to receive the Nobel Prize

October 26, 2018

Frances Arnold receiving the Millennium Tech Prize

The 2016 Millennium Technology Prize winner Frances Arnold won the 2018 Nobel prize in chemistry and is now the third person to have won these two prestigious prizes. Professor Arnold, who is on the faculty at the California Institute of Technology, won the Nobel prize for her career-long work in directed evolution."