Awards and Honors

College of Chemistry awards and honors featured in the news.

Breakthrough of the Year: CRISPR makes the cut

December 17, 2015

Science singles out CRISPR gene-editing as the Breakthrough of the Year.

Read the article.

UC faculty rank first among highly cited researchers

January 27, 2016

Scientist in lab coatOne hundred sixty-five UC faculty were among the most influential scientists in their fields in 2015.

Read the article.

White House to honor Alivisatos, Hu with National Medals of Science, Technology

December 22, 2015

Paul AlivisatosPaul Alivisatos and Chenming Hu have been selected to receive the nation's top honors in science and technology.

Read the article.

Michael Marletta elected to American Philosophical Society

May 23, 2016

Michael MarlettaThe American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, has elected UC Berkeley chemist Michael Marletta as one of 28 new members.

Read the article.

CoC postdocs win IUPAC awards

June 17, 2013
Hailiang Wang, Gabor Somorjai and Qiao "Joe" Zhang.Hailiang Wang and Qiao “Joe” Zhang, both postdocs in the research group of chemistry professor Gabor Somorjai, are among the five winners of the 2013 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists.

Fleming honored by Japanese chemical society

August 15, 2016

Graham Fleming. Photo by Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab.Chemistry professor Graham Fleming has been named an Honorable Foreign Member of the Chemical Society of Japan.

BEAM wins Zipcar award

June 16, 2016
BEAM magnetic speaker project Bernardo Gouveia of Berkeley Engineers and Mentors (BEAM) discusses BEAM's recent Zipcar 2016 “Students with Drive” award.

Taiwan’s Tang Prizes awarded to Doudna, Rosenfeld

June 20, 2016

Jennifer DoudnaTaiwan's top science award, the Tang Prize, has gone to two UC Berkeley scientists well-known in the fields of biochemistry and physics: Jennifer Doudna, for her invention of CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing, and Arthur Rosenfeld, often called the "godfather of energy efficiency."

Landry and Xu earn Beckman Young Investigator Awards

July 22, 2016

Landry, Xu

Markita Landry and Ke Xu, two College of Chemistry assistant professors, have won prestigious awards from the Young Investigator Program of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation.