Maimone wins 2024 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award For Organic Synthesis

September 7, 2023

Professor Tom Maimone of UC Berkeley has been named the recipient of the 2024 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award For Organic Synthesis.

Tom Maimone

Professor Tom Maimone completed his B.S. degree in chemistry at The University of California, Berkeley in 2004 wherein he was introduced to organic chemistry research in the laboratory of Professor Dirk Trauner. In the fall of 2005, he began doctoral studies at The Scripps Research Institute under the guidance of Professor Phil Baran. While at Scripps, Tom completed total syntheses of the alkaloids hapalindole U and ambiguine H, and was part of the team that completed the first laboratory synthesis of the complex diterpene vinigrol. In the fall of 2009, Tom moved to MIT to pursue post-doctoral studies in the laboratory of Professor Stephen Buchwald where he worked in the area of palladium-catalyzed carbon-oxygen and carbon-fluorine bond formation. In July of 2012, Tom returned to UC-Berkeley as an assistant professor in the department of chemistry wherein his research group investigates the chemistry and biology of natural products. In 2022 Tom was promoted to full Professor. He has received numerous awards, among them The Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), an ACS Cope Scholar Award, and industrial young investigator awards from Novartis, Eli Lilly, Amgen, and Bristol Myers Squibb.

Professor Xiang David Li, of The University of Hong Kong has also been named a recipient of the 2024 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award, for his work in  Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry. For additional details see the Science Direct Press Release.

About the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards

The Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards were created in 2005 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. These two awards are presented to two individuals under 40 years of age who have exhibited "exceptional creativity and dedication" in the fields of Organic Synthesis and of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry respectively.

Each award has a separate voting committee, with the Editors of Tetrahedron and Tetrahedron Letters voting on the Organic Synthesis Award, and the Editors of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry and Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, voting on the Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Award.

Award Prize

Both Professor Tom Maimone and Professor Xiang David Li will each give a plenary lecture at the 24th Tetrahedron Symposium in Montpellier, France, where they will be formally presented with their award. Each recipient also receives a certificate and an award of US $5,000. Furthermore, two special issues will be compiled in their honour. Like the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, which these awards complement, the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Awards are bestowed on an annual basis.

Source Article

Science Direct