Awards and Honors

College of Chemistry awards and honors featured in the news.

CBE Professor Clayton Radke receives 2018 Faculty Outstanding Mentorship of GSIs award

October 22, 2018

Clayton Radke wins Faculty GSI Mentorship award

Each spring graduate students are invited to nominate faculty members for the Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentorship of Graduate Student Instructors (GSIs.) Typically each nomination is supported by several GSIs who have worked with the honoree. The award, sponsored by the Graduate Council’s Advisory Committee for GSI Affairs and the GSI Teaching & Resource Center, is presented as a surprise in the faculty member’s classroom, with the GSIs and other departmental faculty and staff present in the fall.

Grad student Lomont wins Future Leaders Award

January 25, 2013
Justin LomontJustin Lomont, a graduate student in the research group of Charles Harris, has been awarded a K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award from the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

David Schaffer appointed Hubbard Howe Jr Distinguished Chair in Biochemical Engineering

December 26, 2018

David SchafferThe department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE) has announced the appointment of David Schaffer as the Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Chair in Biochemical Engineering. Schaffer is a professor of Chemical and Biolmolecular Engineering, Bioengineering, Molecular & Cell Biology, and the Director of the Berkeley Stem Cell Center.

Professor Alexis T. Bell is the recipient of the 2018 NACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis

December 7, 2018

Alexis T. Bell

Professor Alexis T. Bell is the recipient of the 2018 NACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis sponsored and administered by The North American Catalysis Society. It is awarded biennially in even-numbered years. Bell will be honored at the closing banquet ceremonies at the 2019 North American Meeting of the Catalysis Society.

Nobel Prize award ceremony to be streamed live December 10

December 3, 2018

Nobel Laureate ceremony December 10th

This year's Nobel Laureates in science and medicine will take center stage in Stockholm on December 10th, when they receive the Nobel medal and diploma from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. This year's awardees include UC Berkeley Alumna Professor Frances Arnold of Caltech.

Sung-Hou Kim named AAAS Fellow

November 27, 2018

Sung-Hou KimAAAS awarded 416 of its members the distinction of Fellow this year for “their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Among the new Fellows from Berkeley are Allen Goldstein (Energy Technologies Area), Sung-Hou Kim (Biosciences), Susannah Tringe (Biosciences) and Katherine Yelick (Computing Sciences.)

Chemistry Nobel goes to UC Berkeley Ph.D. Frances Arnold

October 3, 2018

Frances Arnold wins Nobel PrizeFrances H. Arnold, the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry at Caltech, is one of three winners of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Richard Saykally to present BESE Distinguished Lecture at KAUST

November 16, 2018

Richard SaykallyRichard Saykally, Class of 1932 Endowed Professor of Chemistry at UC Berkeley, will present the BESE Distinguished Lecture on Probing Complex Interfaces at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology on November 19th.


Paul Alivisatos awarded the Wilhelm Exner medal

November 2, 2018

Paul Alivisatos

Paul Alivisatos, UC Berkeley's Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, has been awarded the 2018 Wilhelm Exner Medal for his pioneering research in nanoscience.