Awards and Honors

College of Chemistry awards and honors featured in the news.

Ziyang Zhang receives Searle Scholars award

May 23, 2024
Ziyang Zhang has been named as one of the 2024 Searle Scholars.

Omar Yaghi honored with Fiat Lux Faculty Award

February 23, 2024
Omar Yaghi has received the 2024 Fiat Lux Faculty Award from the Cal Alumni Association as a part of this year's Achievement Awards.

Michael Zuerch receives Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars award

April 26, 2024
Michael Zuerch, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, has been named a 2024 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar.

Michael Marletta inducted into Class of the AIMBE College of Fellows

March 26, 2024
The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) recently announced the induction of Michael Marletta, Professor of Chemistry and Molecular & Cell Biology, to its College of Fellows.

Peter Marsden is among five to receive Distinguished Teaching Award

March 26, 2024
Peter Marsden, Continuing Lecturer of Chemistry, is one of five faculty to receive this year's Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA).

Abel and Zuerch named 2024 Scialog Fellows

March 21, 2024
Brooks Abel and Michael Zuerch were named Scialog Fellows by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement.

Berkeley’s Jeffrey Reimer will receive AIChE’s Warren K. Lewis Award for ChE education

October 16, 2023
Professor Jeffrey Reimer is being recognized for outstanding contributions to chemical engineering education based on accomplishments in classroom teaching, course development, authorship of teaching texts, and departmental chairmanship, as well as excellence in research.

New Brilliance of Berkeley course to feature Jennifer Doudna

March 4, 2024
On March 8, Jennifer Doudna will present the topic "The Chemistry of CRISPR: Origins and Opportunities of RNA-guided Genome Editing."

Kwabena Bediako awarded 2024 Philomathia Prize

March 11, 2024
The Philomathia Prize is intended to recognize exceptional early career faculty members at Berkeley great distinction and promise in their academic field.

2024 Bakar Prize recipients target skin disease, spintronics and tree bark

March 12, 2024
Rebecca Abergel and Jay Keasling are among the five UC Berkeley faculty members awarded this year's Bakar Prize.