Paul Alivisatos awarded 2024 Kavli prize in nanoscience

Armand Paul Alivisatos, 2024 Kavli Prize Laureate in Nanoscience

June 12, 2024

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters named Armand Paul Alivisatos, professor emeritus of chemistry, winner of 2024 Kavli Prize in the field of nanoscience. Also named a recipient was fellow University of California, Berkeley, faculty member Doris Ying Tsao. Tsao, who is a professor of molecular and cell biology, was recognized for her work in neuroscience.

The Kavli Prize recognizes scientists in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. In total, eight scientists from three countries are honored for their research that has broadened our understanding of the big, the small and the complex. The laureates in each field will share $1 million USD.

The 2024 Kavli Prize Laureates are:

  • Kavli Prize in Astrophysics: David Charbonneau (Canada/USA) and Sara Seager (Canada/USA)
  • Kavli Prize in Nanoscience: Robert S. Langer (USA), Armand Paul Alivisatos (USA) and Chad A. Mirkin (USA)
  • Kavli Prize in Neuroscience: Nancy Kanwisher (USA), Winrich Freiwald (Germany) and Doris Ying Tsao (USA)

More information

UC Berkeley neuroscientist and nanoscientist among this year's Kavli Prize winners

Kavli Prize announcement