Nobel Prize award ceremony to be streamed live December 10

December 3, 2018

Nobel Prize award ceremony

Nobel Prize Announcement 
Stockholm, Sweden

This year's Nobel Laureates in science and medicine will take center stage in Stockholm on December 10th, when they receive the Nobel medal and diploma from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. The Nobel Prizes have been presented to the Laureates since 1901 at ceremonies on December 10th, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. As stipulated in the will of the Swedish-born inventor and international industrialist Alfred Nobel, which was opened after his death in 1896, the Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway.

Since 1969 an additional prize has been awarded at the ceremony in Stockholm, The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, which was established in 1968 on the occasion of the Riksbank’s 300th anniversary. The Prize Award Ceremony in Stockholm has, almost without exception, taken place at the Stockholm Concert Hall (Stockholms Konserthus) since 1926. In Oslo, the ceremony was for many years held at the Nobel Institute. From 1947 till 1990, the setting was the auditorium of the University of Oslo. In 1990 the event moved to the Oslo City Hall.

This year's awardees include UC Berkeley Alumna Professor Frances Arnold of Caltech. She was awarded one half of this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry for her research in the directed evolution of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyse chemical reactions. Since her initial research was published in 1993, she has refined the methods that are now routinely used to develop new catalysts. The uses of Professor Arnold’s enzymes include more environmentally friendly manufacturing of chemical substances, such as pharmaceuticals, and the production of renewable fuels for a greener transport sector.

The award ceremony will be broadcast live at 7:30 am PST, Monday, December 10th (4:30 pm CET in Stockholm.)

Watch the ceremony here