Diamond Jubilee celebration at IIT Kanpur honors Nitash Balsara

November 4, 2019

Nitash Balsara

Nitash Balsara at Berkeley Lab. Photo: Rick Chapman

For immediate release
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh

The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT Kanpur), one of the first Indian Institutes of Technology and a globally acclaimed Institute of national importance, has just completed celebrating its diamond jubilee. As part of the celebrations, alumni from the College were honored for their academic excellence, professional excellence and entrepreneurship.

Nitash Balsara, The Charles W. Tobias Professor in Electrochemistry and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at UC Berkely (1982), was honored along with Professors Shankar Subramanian, Chair and Professor of Bioengineering, University of California, San Diego (1982), Ajeet Rohatgi, Regents' Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology  (1971) and Rajesh Gopakumar Centre Director, ICTS-Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (1992).

About IIT Kanpur

IIT Kanpur was established by an Act of India's Parliament in 1959. The institute was started in December 1959 in a room in the canteen building of the Harcourt Butler Technological Institute at Agricultural Gardens in Kanpur. In 1963, the institute moved to its present location, on the Grand Trunk Road near the locality of Kalyanpur in Kanpur district. The campus was designed by Achyut Kavinde in a modernist style.

During the first ten years of its existence, a consortium of nine US universities (including MIT, UC Berkeley, California Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Carnegie Institute of Technology, University of Michigan, Ohio State University, Case Institute of Technology and Purdue University) helped set up IIT Kanpur's research laboratories and academic programmes under the Kanpur Indo-American Programme. The first Director of the Institute was P. K. Kelkar.

Currently, IIT Kanpur offers the following undergraduate programs: Aerospace Engineering, Biological Sciences and Bio-engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering.