Eran Rabani


(510) 643-0841
220 Gilman Hall
Glenn T. Seaborg Chair in Physical Chemistry
  • Born 1967
  • B.Sc. The Hebrew University, 1991
  • Ph.D. (Clore Fellow), Theoretical Chemistry, The Hebrew University, 1996
  • Rothschild and Fulbright Postdoctoral Fellow, Columbia University, 1996-99
  • The Yigal Alon Fellowship, 1999-2002
  • The Bergman Memorial Research Award, 2000
  • The Friedenberg Award, 2002
  • Israel Chemical Society Prize for Young Investigators, 2003
  • The Michael Bruno Memorial Award, 2006
  • Ecole Normale Superieure Invited Professorship, 2008
  • J.T. Oden Faculty Fellow, University of Texas, Austin, 2009
  • Marie Curie International Fellow, 2010-2013
  • Visiting Miller Research Professor, 2010-2011

Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

Prof. Rabani's research involves the development of theoretical and computational tools to investigate fundamental properties of nanostructures. His research covers structural, electronic and optical properties of nanocrystals, doping of nanoparticles, exciton and multiexciton dynamics at the nanoscale, and transport in correlated nano-junctions. Much of this relies on the development of stochastic electronic structure techniques to describe the ground and excited state properties in large-scale nanostructures. In addition, Prof. Rabani has pioneered real-time approaches to nonequilibrium many-body quantum dynamics to describe quantum liquid and glasses and to explore electron-electron and electron-phonon interactions in nano-junctions.