Daniel M. Neumark


(510) 642-3502
B64 Hildebrand Hall

Lab: D6, D10, D20, D21 and D22 Latimer Hall
Lab phone: (510) 643-9301, (510) 642-7761, (510) 486-5741

Professor of Chemistry
  • Born 1955
  • B.A., M.A. Harvard University, 1977
  • Ph. D., Physical Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley, 1984
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, JILA, University of Colorado, 1984-86
  • Office of Naval Research Young Investigator, 1987
  • National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator, 1987
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 1989
  • Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, 1991
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 1993
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1994
  • Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist, 1997
  • Miller Research Professor, 1999
  • Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2000
  • American Chemical Society Nobel Laureate Signature Award (w/ Martin Zanni), 2000
  • Bomem-Michelson Award, 2001
  • Chairman of the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry, 2001
  • William F. Meggers Award, 2005
  • Chair of Division of Chemical Physics of the American Physical Society, 2007
  • Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics, 2008
  • Herschbach Medal, 2009
  • Fellow, American Chemical Society, 2011
  • Herbert P. Broida Prize, 2013
  • Chemical Dynamics Award, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2013
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2015
  • Editorial advisory board of the Journal of Chemical Physics, the Journal of Physical Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Chemical Physics Letters, Molecular Physics, Accounts of Chemical Research, and PhysChemComm
  • Director of the Chemical Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2000-2010)
  • Chair of the Department of Chemistry from (2010-2014)

Physical Chemistry, Molecular Structure and Dynamics

Prof. Neumark and his research group carry out state-of-the-art experiments to probe fundamental problems in chemical physics. The projects in his laboratories encompass (i) reaction dynamics of bimolecular and unimolecular reactions, in which one maps out in detail the potential energy surfaces on which chemistry occurs, (ii) cluster spectroscopy and dynamics, which explore how the properties of matter evolve with size, and (iii) ultrafast x-ray science, where novel femtosecond and attosecond light source initiate and/or probe dynamics in the soft x-ray regime. Much of his work uses photoelectron spectroscopy of negative ions in either the frequency and time-domain to probe the spectroscopy and dynamics of transient and reactive species. His research has yielded new insights into transition state spectroscopy, the electronic and vibrational spectroscopy of clusters, the photodissociation of reactive free radicals, hydrated electron dynamics in clusters and liquid jets, and the ultrafast dynamics of helium nanodroplets excited by femtosecond soft x-ray pulses.