Nitsche wins Hevesy Medal

February 27, 2014

Chemistry professor Heino Nitsche has won the Hevesy Medal, the premier international award of excellence honoring outstanding achievements in radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry.

The award is named after George de Hevesy (1885-1966), who received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1943 for his work on the use of isotopes as tracers in the study of chemical processes.

Established in 1968 by the editor-in-chief and the publishers of the Journal of Radioanalytical and Nuclear Chemistry, the Hevesy Medal is given in recognition of excellence through outstanding, sustained career achievements in the fields of pure and applied nuclear and radiochemistry, particularly applications to nuclear analytical chemistry.

The International Committee on Activation Analysis, part of the Modern Trends in Activation Analysis Conferences, is currently responsible for administration of the award, which will be presented at the 17th Radiochemical Conference, May 11-16, in Marianske Lazne, Czech Republic.

Emeritus chemistry professor Darleane C. Hoffman received the award in 2010.