CoC postdocs win IUPAC awards

June 17, 2013

Hailiang Wang and Qiao “Joe” Zhang, both postdocs in the research group of chemistry professor Gabor Somorjai, are among the five winners of the 2013 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists.

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry selected the winners out of a group of 43 applicants from15 countries. The awards are based on the awardee's Ph.D. work — Wang's at Stanford University, and Zhang's at UC Riverside. It is a measure of Somorjai's reputation that two of the five prize winners have chosen to work in his lab.

Wang's research involves inorganic/graphene hybrid nanomaterials for electrochemical energy storage and conversion, while Zhang conducts research on nanomaterials engineering and applications in catalysis. The awards for Wang and Zhang include $1000 cash prizes that will be presented to them at the 44th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Istanbul, Turkey, in August.

IUPAC was formed in 1919 by chemists from industry and academia. IUPAC is recognized as the world authority on chemical nomenclature, terminology, standardized methods for measurement, atomic weights and many other critically evaluated data.

More Info

Somorjai Research Group