Richard J. Saykally

Richard Saykally

Professor Emeritus

office: D33 Hildebrand Hall
phone: (510) 642-8269
fax: (510) 642-8369
lab phone: (510) 642-1047
student/post doc office: D36 Hildebrand Hall

Research Group
Recent Publications

Research Interests

Physical Chemistry, Surface Science, Analytical Chemistry, Materials and Solid State Chemistry — New laser and synchrotron spectroscopy methods are developed for the study of chemistry in liquid systems, new forms of matter, properties and reactions at liquid interfaces, with an emphasis on the study of water and aqueous systems.

Active projects include: X-ray spectroscopy of liquids and interfaces, nonlinear optical spectroscopy of liquids and interfaces, chemical reactions at liquid interfaces. We continue to focus on problems involving liquid water and aqueous interfaces.


  • Born 1947
  • B.S. University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (1970)
  • Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison (1977)
  • National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow-NIST, Boulder, CO (1977-79)
  • Dreyfus Award (1979)
  • Presidential Young Investigator Award (1984)
  • Miller Research Professor (1985-86)
  • E.K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy (1989)
  • Michelson Prize for Spectroscopy (1989)
  • Lippincott Medal for Spectroscopy (1992)
  • Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award (1992)
  • ACS Harrison Howe Award (1992)
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Bourke Medal (1992)
  • Churchill Fellowship, Cambridge University (1995)
  • Humboldt Senior Scientist Award (1995)
  • Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1995)
  • Fellow of APS, OSA, and Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Member of National Academy of Sciences (1999)
  • Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award (1999)
  • ACS Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics (2000)
  • Centenary Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2001)
  • E.O. Lawrence Award (2004)
  • Johannes Markus Marci Medal (Czechoslovakia, 2004)
  • Morino Lectureship (Japan, 2005)
  • Oxford University Hinshelwood Lectureship (2006)
  • Inaugural Solvay Chair in Chemistry (Belgium, 2008)
  • ACS Peter DeBye Award in Physical Chemistry (2009)
  • J.C. Bose Memorial Lecturer (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, 2011)
  • Morris Travers Lecturer (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 2011)
  • UK Royal Society of Chemistry Faraday Lectureship Prize (2012)
  • W.A. Noyes Distinguished Lecture in Physical Chemistry, UT Austin, 2013
  • CaSTL (Chemistry at the Space-Time Limit) Lecturer, UC Irvine, 2014
  • E. Roger Washburn Memorial Lectureship in Physical Chemistry, University of Nebraska – 2016
  • NANOLYTICA 2017 Keynote Speaker, Simon Fraser University – 2017
  • Helmholtz International Fellowship Award(Helmholtz Society, Berlin)-2018
  • SCS Lectureship (Swiss Chemical Society)-2018
  • BESE Distinguished Lecturer (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)-2018
  • Jean Dreyfus Lectureship(Hobart and William Smith Colleges)-2018
  • E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy (American Chemical Society)-2018