All News

July 14, 2014

Chemistry Professor John Hartwig has been awarded the 2014 Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis. The prize will be delivered after the lecture Hartwig will give at a symposium on Thursday, July 17, at the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS).

July 11, 2014

College of Chemistry dean and CBE professor Douglas Clark has won the 2014 James E. Bailey Award from the Society for Biological Engineering.

July 9, 2014

CBE chair Jeffrey Reimer has received an Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award. Fellowships and awards from the foundation are among the most prestigious and generous German honors.

July 8, 2014

Chemistry professor Gabor Somorjai has won the 2015 William H. Nichols Award of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society.

June 2, 2014

Chemistry professor Jeff Long has been honored with an inaugural 2014 France-Berkeley Fund Award. He received a prize of $2,500 in Berkeley on May 5 at the celebration of the fund’s 20th anniversary. A second award was presented to Professor Frederick Douzet of the Université Paris.

May 28, 2014

Inspired by how enzymes work in nature’s biological processes, CBE professor Alex Katz and colleagues have demonstrated a way to improve control of synthetic catalysts, according to a paper in a recent online issue of the journal Nature Nanotechnology.

May 27, 2014

Chemistry professor Evan Williams has received the Royal Society of Chemistry’s 2014 Theophilus Redwood Award. The award is given to a leading analytical scientist who is also an outstanding communicator.

May 22, 2014

The College of Chemistry held its commencement ceremony on May 17 in Zellerbach Auditorium.

May 7, 2014

Douglas Clark, dean of the College of Chemistry and the Gilbert Newton Lewis Professor, has helped develop a new type of biochip that emulates the three-dimensional structure and the metabolism of a human liver. The device could one day eliminate the need to harvest and use liver cells from human cadavers to test the toxicity of potential new drugs and drug candidates.

May 2, 2014

Chemistry Professor Robert Bergman has been named the 2014 recipient of the Welch Award in Chemical Research for “pioneering work in alkane activation and mechanisms of organometallic reactions.”

April 29, 2014

From MRS-TV, a description of work at UC Berkeley on carbon dioxide capture from an exhaust stream of a power plant.

April 3, 2014

The College of Chemistry has launched a new collaborative research center, the California Research Alliance by BASF (CARA), a multidisciplinary effort focused on innovation and technology transfer. Along with Berkeley and the chemical company BASF, CARA academic partners include UCLA and Stanford University.

February 27, 2014

Chemistry professor Heino Nitsche has won the Hevesy Medal, the premier international award of excellence honoring outstanding achievements in radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry.

February 11, 2014

January 17, 2014

Twitter logoCollege of Chemistry editor Michael Barnes is now tweeting chemistry and other science news. Barnes gets several press releases and other news items via email every day, and he has been looking for a way to share them with alums who want to keep up the the latest science news.

December 2, 2013

Chemistry professor Michelle Chang has won the Buck-Whitney award of the Eastern New York section of the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes "excellent original contributions to pure and applied chemistry."

November 26, 2013

Chemistry professor Chris Chang has won the 2013 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award, established in 1944 by the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society.

November 15, 2013

A Message from Dean Douglas S. Clark

October 29, 2013

Chemistry professor Robert Bergman will be honored for his "achievements and contributions to organic chemistry" at the 2014 Reaction Mechanisms Conference. The conference will be held the week of June 22, 2014, at UC Davis.
Chemistry professor Felix Fischer has been awarded a 2013 Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering.