All News

December 2, 2013

Chemistry professor Michelle Chang has won the Buck-Whitney award of the Eastern New York section of the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes "excellent original contributions to pure and applied chemistry."

November 26, 2013

Chemistry professor Chris Chang has won the 2013 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award, established in 1944 by the North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society.

November 15, 2013

A Message from Dean Douglas S. Clark

October 29, 2013

Chemistry professor Robert Bergman will be honored for his "achievements and contributions to organic chemistry" at the 2014 Reaction Mechanisms Conference. The conference will be held the week of June 22, 2014, at UC Davis.
Chemistry professor Felix Fischer has been awarded a 2013 Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering.

October 2, 2013

David SavageDavid Savage, assistant professor of chemistry, has won an NIH Director's New Innovator Award.

October 1, 2013

CBE grad student Joseph Chen and co-workers have published a paper in Angewandte Chemie that has earned a unique distinction.

July 18, 2013

When Pete Marsden was a chemistry graduate student instructor (GSI) in 2006, the College of Chemistry had a small program that placed juniors and seniors in the teaching labs to provide hands-on help with experiments. Marsden appreciated the extra help in his lab sections.

June 25, 2013

Harvey BlanchChemical and biomolecular engineering professor Harvey Blanch has won the William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature. The award is presented by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) to a member who has made an outstanding contribution to chemical engineering literature.

June 19, 2013

MOFResearchers in the group of chemistry professor Jeff Long have developed a metal-organic-framework (MOF) material that can efficiently sort the components of gasoline. The result, a cleaner-burning mix of hydrocarbon isomers, will achieve higher octane ratings without the addition of toxic additives.

June 17, 2013

Hailiang Wang, Gabor Somorjai and Qiao "Joe" Zhang.Hailiang Wang and Qiao “Joe” Zhang, both postdocs in the research group of chemistry professor Gabor Somorjai, are among the five winners of the 2013 IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists.

June 12, 2013

Jeff ReimerChemical and biomolecular engineering professor Jeff Reimer has agreed to serve as the new CBE chair, replacing current chair Doug Clark, who will become the dean of the College of Chemistry on July 1.

June 3, 2013

UCB SealCollege of Chemistry graduate students Sarika Goel, David Limmer, Karthish Manthiram and David Spiciarich will travel to Lindau, Germany, a small island city on Lake Constance in the southern state of Bavaria, for the 63rd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.

May 21, 2013

Andrew N. Liveris, leader of DOW Chemical, offers his perspective at the college commencement.Andrew N. Liveris, chairman, president and CEO of The DOW Chemical Company, was the guest of honor for the College of Chemistry on Saturday, May 18 2013.

May 16, 2013

Michelle ChangMichelle Chang, soon-to-be chemistry's newest associate professor, has won two different awards aimed at supporting the careers of young faculty.

May 9, 2013

Douglas ClarkDouglas S. Clark, 56, the current Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE) and the Warren and Katharine Schlinger Distinguished Professor in Chemical Engineering, has been designated the new Dean of the College of Chemistry.

May 3, 2013

Robert BergmanChemistry professor Robert Bergman has received a UC Berkeley Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Award for Senior Faculty.

April 10, 2013

Ritankar DasRitankar Das, an undergraduate double-majoring in bioengineering and chemical biology, has been selected as a 2013 Goldwater scholar.

February 11, 2013


John F. HartwigJohn Hartwig, Henry Rapoport Professor of Chemistry, receives this year’s award “for the creative discovery and insightful development of fundamentally new, broadly utilized, transition-metal-catalyzed reactions of common functional groups and unreactive C–H bonds.”

January 30, 2013

Jean FréchetEmeritus chemistry and CBE professor Jean Fréchet, a Professor of the Graduate School, has received a 2013 Japan Prize, one of the most prestigious international awards in science and technology.